home icon / Race and classic pictures / Mitch soaks up the ePrix atmosphere in Mexico

Mitch soaks up the ePrix atmosphere in Mexico

© Twitter.com / @JaguarRacing

Today sees the fifth round of the ABB FIA Formula E championship, the Mexico City ePrix at the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez.

It looks like Jaguar Racing's Mitch Evans can't get wait for the action to start. Either that or he's channelling the racing spirit of two-time world champion Fernando Alonso with all that sunbathing at the circuit!

Meanwhile, the British contingent on the grid are staying out of the sun. Instead, they've been joining TV presenter Vernon Kay for a nice cup of tea and slice of cake before embarking on their weekend activities (below). How very civilised!

Evans is currently in seventh place in the drivers standings. He was on the podium in the second race of the Hong Kong double-header, and in the points in the last race in Chile.

His teammate Nelson Piquet is two places ahead. The Brazilian hasn't had a podium yet this year, but he's been in the points three times. Together, the two drivers have helped Jaguar into fourth place in the team championship.

Last year's race winner Lucas di Grassi will be hoping to get his 2017/18 campaign back on track. The reigning series champion has yet to score points because of reliability issues with his Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler entry.

The race starts at 4pm Mexico local time, which is 22:00 GMT/23:00 CET. There will be practice and qualifying sessions earlier in the day.

British drivers in the 2017/18 ABB FIA Formula E championship

© Twitter.com / @msadAndrettiFE

Gallery: The beautiful wives and girlfriends of F1 drivers

Keep up to date with all the F1 news via Facebook and Twitter